Skip to content

1) The Impact of Media

January 17, 2012

When it comes to media within our society, I believe that culture and innovation are often dependent of each other to some extent. The growth in technology has accelerated the pace at which the world communicates, however, the need for quicker spreading of communications or news has brought about much of this progress. So I believe in a little of both techno-determinism and cultural-determinism. This phenomenon is evident of my own life at times. For example, my interest in the social media platform Twitter was nonexistent before the necessity of it was created by some classes I took last semester. As culture and my environment changed, so did my media habits. On the other hand, as I began to dislike the photo uploading and publishing user-face of the social media platform Facebook, I chose to channel more of my time into my blog on the micro-blogging site Tumblr. But my liking or disliking of certain aspects of the media often do not change my habits at all. For instance, I highly dislike the post editing and selection of themes on WordPress, but I continue to use it because the final results are worth the difficulties. Or my liking of the commenting options on Facebook does not mean I reply less to tweets on Twitter. I think as an EMAC major I should try to be self conscious of how I interact with media and how it affects my daily habits, and I hope by the end of this semester I will have progressed in these areas as well as in areas such as critiquing media, understanding news and film, and writing or blogging more professionally. As we approach Black History Month, I am reminded of a quote by activist Malcom X who said “The media is the most powerful entity on earth… They have the power to make the innocent guilty and to make the guilty innocent, and that’s power… They control the minds of the masses.”

From → COMM3300

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

